1001 Things To Do Before I Hit The Bucket


tibet_-_potasi-monastery.jpgIt is pretty amazing how we realised, after living close to a decade, that we havent really done what we had inspired to do when we were kids? Remember when we were..9? Or 12.

When I was 7, I was so convinced that I could be invincible. (blame it on The Invicible Man that was showing on the black and white tv then) 

I remember when I was 10 I had asked my dad to buy me a magnifying glass so that I could follow the trails of ants that worked their way near the big drain next to our house. 11 years old, I was zapping around the small town blocks on my bike and thought that this was the thing I would be good at when I grew up – show bike and wheelie-ing.

12, saw me pushing my little sister around (she was 1 at that time, we had a huge age gap) and giving her to eat mosquito coils, convinced that she took away my parents’ love. After half a decade, I managed to tell that I was sorry. She didnt even know I was doing it to her. Poor kid. Mom freaked out. Yea, and that was after half a decade.

13, well……this was when I had planted dreams of doing some things magnificent. And totally different. And plenty too. I wanted to be an air hostess. Pilot. Lawyer. Auctioneer & Valuer (had no idea what it was but it sounded kool at that time). And most of all, I had always wanted to travel all over the world.

The years past. I was 15, 16, 17….there were spates of motorbike riding adventures which were soooooooooo un-sanctioned by my dad. I always ended up in the hospital after each race. Maybe this was my way on yelling to the world that I wanted some attention. Who knows what goes on in a 17 year old gal’s mind? Soon I found myself having the first taste of real adventure by climbing the majestic Mount Kinabalu, Sabah. Standing on its peak at more than 4,000 meters above sea level one bleeding cold morning sometime in December 1985 make me realised, I wanted more of this.

However, life had different path for me then. I got married, bore a child and life went on, trudgingly.

But I guess God has plans and He knows best too. Maybe this is the time I should pick up those thoughts  again and begin re-writing the things that I wanted to do. So far, the list isnt very long but its a start.

Here goes, and in no particular order:

  • Climb Mount Kinabalu again. (it keeps on calling my name)
  • Scuba dive in Maldives
  • Admiring the giant turtles in Galapagos
  • Ride in a 4 wheel drive through the Silk Route. Ride a camel too.
  • To see the Swedish Lapland and to discover the Midnight Sun
  • Having breakfast in a reserve game park in Africa
  • Sipping coffee at the Grand Canyon
  • Elephant bathing in Kuala Gandah, Pahang
  • Castle tours in Scotland and Ireland.
  • Whale watching.
  • Alaska cruise
  • Disneyland

Here’s me in Kinabalu park mid this year.

pc150057.jpg

 

6 Replies to “1001 Things To Do Before I Hit The Bucket”

  1. Hello just wanted to drop in your website….

    Mosquito coil? No wonder whenever I see one, I feel a sudden bitter taste in my mouth keh…keh….

  2. Hun, I’ve got the midnight sun and whale watching (up in the Canadian Arctic, though, not Lappland) covered, along with sipping coffee at the Grand Canyon… 😉

  3. My dear, Ive crossed out a few from the old wishlist and have added on plenty more! One of the new ones include “experiencing -40C weather somewhere up there in Canada”. Glad to know we are synch on the midnight sun and coffee at the Grand Canyon.

Leave a Reply

