I Love My Slow Cooker


The fast pace of my current living sometimes take me away from one of my main passions in life – cooking. My definition of cooking means going through the whole entire process that starts from going to the market, selecting and purchasing all the necessary fresh ingredients, going through the motion of chopping, grinding, slicing, sauteeing, presentation and finally savouring the end product.

Phew.

My slow cooker has come to the rescue, somewhat. With this wonderful piece of appliance, I could create the most delicious stew, soups and whatnots limited only to my imagination. The latest  brunch (and carried forward as dinner) rendition came out as Bihun Sup Ayam (Chicken Noodle Soup), ala Hanie 😉

pc050003.jpg

There was no specific measurement for the soup base as there were all added according to my fancies, but the general ingredients are as follows (makes a generous portion for 2 hungry adults or 4 famish teenagers):

The soup base

  1. Chicken pieces (I am partial to add chicken wings in any chicken-based recipe so Ive added a few pieces here, cut to small pieces)
  2. A few pips of garlic (I like mine unpeeled to lend some character to the finished taste)
  3. 3 medium sized Holland potatoes, scrubbed, peeled and cubed
  4. 3 medium sized sweet potatoes, scrubbed, peeled and cubed (to give it that sweetness finish)
  5. 2 red tomatoes, quartered
  6. Sliced button mushrooms (as much as you like)
  7. Chicken stock or chicken cube (I like Maggie or Knorr’s)
  8. Dash of Five Spice powder
  9. 2 star anise
  10. 1 spoonful of black soya sauce to give the soup character and it does infuse well with the garlic when done)
  11. Enough water to cover all the above ingredients

Throw everything inside the slow cooker and the next morning you would have a brunch ready for you! Dont forget to season your soup base before serving. I served mine with rice noodle (bihun).

Leave a Reply

