Monday Blues


Monday – I wonder why there is a term for this day – Monday blues. Could it be that you get too sick for all the things you do over the weekend that you get “blue” on Monday? Or, could it be that you are so sick of facing a new working day that you feel “blue”?

I started off the day with a good dose of kopi kau and some toast with kaya at the nearby stall which is just minutes away from the office. Good thing so far that the weather seems like a fantastic day..to be at home..(Hanie! stop it!)

Then 0900 hours. All the follow up phone calls and the sales calls have started. By the time I got to the ten gadzillion number, I got sick to the point of being sarcastic.

“Good morning, is this company XYZ?”

“Huh?”

“Is this company XYZ? I am calling from ABC Company and my name is Hanie. May I speak to Ms HR Manager please?”

“What? What? ADCD company? What you talk about?” (I almost died hearing the receptionist’s atrocious Manglish)

“Ms HR Manager please. Can you put me through?”

I could hear she puts me on hold and transfers me to HR department, and someone at the other end picks up the phone…

“Ah..what you want? Who are you?”, answered Ms HR Manager.

I rolled off the usual obligatory intro. She said, no and a few other vague answers. Infact, she had such limited vocab that 5 seconds down the road I realised the ONLY vocab she had was only one word – no – in a mono tone that even clowns could cry.

“So, Ms HR Manager, you dont send out your employees for any public programs at all? Not even one eventhough you are an HRDF contributor?”

“No!”

“What about Telephone Techniques or Communication Skills?” ( the bitch in me started to rear its head)

“No!”. And for a moment she kept quiet. Then she continued, softly, “Why ar..?”

I was already grinning from ear to ear…hehehe…..

5 Replies to “Monday Blues”

  1. I can sooo identify with the frustration of making cold calls. Not to mention dealing with those crazy HR people!

    “What about Telephone Techniques or Communication Skills?” Good one!

  2. Anita! Dont you know it?? LOL. We have a term for HR people – “seemore”. Why? They tend to collect all information and the more you submit them proposals the more they want to see, thus “seemore”. As much as a Malaysian that I am, I sometimes cant stand the Manglish that some Malaysians use…*sigh*

  3. “Why ar..?” CLASSIC!

    I guess I would go down to their levels if I needed to get the information through. No point speaking the Queen’s English.

    “Hello? This XYZ Company issit? You got people you want to improve their standard or not? Down here got lobang one. You send 3, we give you 1 free. How? Got chance?”

    Maybe … just maybe they’ll be hooked by the word ‘FREE’.

  4. BC: been there done that lor…cannot tahan meh. Ears got sick one. Heart also got sick.

  5. Hi there,

    I get plenty when I start asking, ” Hi, my name’s so and so…do you a Public Relations officer there?” or “…a Corporate Communications officer” or just simply “…someone who’s familiar with the media?”

    I do get directed immediately to the HR Manager thought, which is quite interesting to your situation.

    In any case, Monday Blues are definitely seeing red if you start the day with meeting with bitch callings and dear God, trying to sound as sweet as possible….

Leave a Reply

