Durian Attack


Fetching The Teenager from Uptown, we passed by a durian stall just around the bend of the cross roads between the Starbucks and the empty fields. The whiff just hit me.

I must eat some durians tonight!

durian-breakaway

And so, we drove further to SS2 to my favourite durian stall. This young Chinese guy has been selling durians in the past many fruiting seasons and I have never failed to visit him to select one fruit for “the night cap”.

Tonight, I decided to settle on this oh! sooooo lovely looking, soooo inviting medium sized durian XO. As soon as he whacked his parang to crack open the thorny fruit, I could almost taste the beautiful flesh that lay encase in the segments. The golden-yellow creamy flesh of the durian tasted slightly bitter-sweet, exactly as how I know it would have tasted. Mmmmmmm……………..

At RM13.00/kilo, the durian that I picked tonight was all worth it.

Leave a Reply

