Chocolate / Vanilla Twist


Chocolate/vanilla twist(George) In my younger years, growing up in Canada, no trip to the Scarborough Town Centre was complete without a stop for ice cream. Not just any ice cream, but soft serve ice cream that we used to get from a snack bar there.  The coolest thing about that place was the soft serve machine itself. It didn’t just unceremoniously plop your ice cream as a globular mass inside your cone or cup, but it swirled the ice cream. More than that, the machine was capable of producing not just chocolate or vanilla ice cream, but a mix of the two. Now as my Other Half points out, I am a chocolate man. Always have been, always will be. But this twisting of chocolate and vanilla totally intrigued and delighted me. I couldn’t help but order the chocolate/vanilla twist -“half and half” is what we used to call it – just to watch the machine work its magic. And you know something? The chocolate/vanilla mixed ice cream was DAMN GOOD! So much so that it was all I would order. And on the occasions when we dropped by and the machine couldn’t produce my half and half I used to get really upset. I felt cheated. Hurt. Like the world was conspiring against me. “Fine,” I said in a low, pouty growl, “I’ll have chocolate then…!”

Years passed, and we moved away. Got side tracked by all sorts of other life experiences. Forgot all about my chocolate/vanilla twist. Never had it again.

Now here I am, three decades later, and life has come full circle. The ice cream machine of life is pumping out my chocolate/vanilla twist in the form of this union between Mr. Chocolate (me) and Ms. Vanilla (Hanie). And you want to know something? We taste DAMN GOOD together!

One Reply to “Chocolate / Vanilla Twist”

Leave a Reply

