A Good January And Reminiscing


The new year started off in a good tune and in a couple of weeks, it will be new year no more. Not quite, anyway. It has been busy few weeks for me, what with the business plannings and also preparing for the company’s annual dinner. I have never worked with a company who takes on preparing for their annual dinner as serious as this. Every activity is planned meticulously like a clock work. Everyone seems to have something to do and didnt even mind staying back on most days.

On top of that, there is the singing competition. I never thought that my entry of Valentine by Martina McBride got me a place as one of the three finalists. The bigger surprise was when The Boss handed over an envelope containing a minus-one CD containing Mylee Cyrus’s The Climb.

Oh my God!!

The final will be on this week’s Friday during the annual dinner. It doesnt help that I got the minus-one and lyrics on last Saturday. Remembering lyrics to teenager’s song isnt exactly in this year’s plan. Well, help came in a form of a singing class, thanks to The Boss who was gracious enough to pay all three finalists’ slots this week.

I have sung for money before when I was a lot younger. I was in the East Coast at that time. It somehow had gotten me to earn some pocket money and to have a bit of fun on stage. The band was called The 7 Stones. I knew someone would ask me, “WTF???”. Yeah, I dont blame you.

Anyways, there were 4 of us.  A few months down the road, the bassist went missing. He got hauled up by the police for drug abuse. Then the drummer had decided to quit the band, cut his hair short and worked at a nearby resort. That left only me as the lead singer and the keyboardist.

We moonlighted in the evenings at the golf course club performing to some Datuks, VIPs and a royalties. Day time was spent at my small boutique by the beach, selling batik wear to beach lovers.

But some good things must come to an end. Rani the keyboardist and I parted ways when he decided to move to another state and marry his girlfriend.

The experience at the singing class today was awesome. Jordon the singing instructor was most patient with me while I fumbled with the chorus, skipping a few beats and cues. Despite his sorethroat, he sang along with me like a real pro.

Earlier in the office, the colleagues were busy practising to the tune of Abba’s Waterloo.

In a couple of weeks’ time, George will be back home. Words cant describe my exitement.

January has been good so far.

Leave a Reply

