TWO MEOWS WHO ARE NO LONGER STRAYS


PRAYER OF A STRAY

Dear God please send me somebody who will care!
I’m tired of running, I’m sick with despair.
My body is aching, it’s so racked with pain.
And Dear God I pray as I run in the rain,
that someone will love me and give me a home;
a warm cozy bed I can call my own.
My last owner neglected me and chased me away,
to rummage in garbage and live as a stray.
But now God I’m tired and hungry and cold,
and I’m afraid I’ll never grow old.
They’ve chased me with sticks and hit me with stones,
while I run in the streets just looking for bones!
I’m not really bad God, please help if you can,
for I have become just a victim of man.
I’m wormy Dear God and I’m ridden with fleas,
and all that I want is an owner to please.
If you find one for me God I’ll try to be good.
I won’t run away and I’ll do as I should.
I don’t think I’ll make it too long on my own,
cuz I’m getting so weak and I’m so all alone.
Each night as I sleep in the bushes I cry,
cuz I’m so afraid God that I’m gonna die.
And I’ve got so much love and devotion to give,
that I should be given a new chance to live!
So Dear God, please, please answer my prayer,
and send me somebody who will really care! ~ Written by Bev Davenport 1992 ~

About a week ago, George and I went to the Jaya Grocer in Tropicana to do our weekly grocery run. It was raining cats and dogs. The road was wet, cars buzzing this way and that and the parking was packed with vehicles. As we alighted from the car, I saw two furry balls making a quick dash from underneath a car to another to avoid the heavy rain. I began to get panicky as I saw one of them trying to get into the engine of one car. I quickly called the cat and both of them came to my feet. What lovely looking creatures!

But then, the call for grocery shopping had to be addressed and so I left the two for a while in the hope that they would not get into trouble.

Shopping cart laden with groceries, we walked along the corridor of the shops towards the car. It was still raining. I saw the two kitties again, again dashing from one spot to another trying to avoid the rain and the busy cars coming and going in the parking lot.

I told George we needed to do a pit stop – to feed the two furry balls. And there I was hunching by the corridor of a shop feeding the two. They were wet and hungry. They quickly gobbled the kibbles I placed on the cement.

Such pitiful sight that literally make me cried. They make me think of the furkids at home who do not need to rummage for food from bins or cower away from the cold rain.

Then, I heard George said,” Dear….we do still have room for another two at home…..”.

Grins!

Here they are, they two new kids.

Arthur (of King Arthur)

Vanadis (old Norwegian for “Lady”)

Leave a Reply

