The Night Before Aidil Fitri 1433


(Hanie blogging from the dining table with Guinevere on her lap, showing off her big round belly welly. And of course, Hanie gets distracted time and again with the big kitty purr…)

I could hear the sound of the mercun (fire works) in the distance. I have the tea lights going prettily over at the porch. The tiki torches burning in the garden. Such beautiful night. The smell of rendang wafted throughout the house. New cushion covers, place mats, tableware. Earlier, George and I went out to get some lemang from the roadside by the Taman Tun Dr Ismail. Very festive with so many cars parked by the side and rows upon rows of lemang.

I love the night just before Aidil Fitri. Such solemn feeling dawned upon me hearing the zikir Raya coming from the mosques nearby. It makes me think how lucky I am to be able to experience this again in a peaceful atmosphere – with no sound of bombs from the distance, or gun shots.

Alhamdulillah. I so look forward to tomorrow;-)

Post script: This blog was written on the night before Aidil Fitri, and had been conveniently forgotten to post it…hehe….

Leave a Reply

