9/11/2001


“For me and my family personally, September 11 was a reminder that life is fleeting, impermanent, and uncertain. Therefore, we must make use of every moment and nurture it with affection, tenderness, beauty, creativity, and laughter.” –Deepak Chopra

_____________________________________________________________

I threw my handbag on the sofa just like any other evening. The day was long and I was tired. Got the remote control and switched on the TV. At the corner of my eyes, I thought I heard a running commentary of a tragic incident that shook the world. The next second, I saw what I thought one of the twin towers in New York collapsed.  An airplane had just flew straight into it!

And then another plane crashed into the second tower.

I thought that was a very sick movie with an equally bloody sick-minded movie maker trying to make fast money by showing crazy movies like this.

I glanced at the clock, realizing it was the early evening news and it dawned on me that what I had just witnessed was no movie – it was as real as it could get.

All the lines to the States were jammed. I had been trying to call all of my US suppliers, especially for Larry from a renown tableware producer in Illinois. They have a show room on 5th Avenue, NY. Finally after trying for like hours, I managed to get through to him.

Such a tragedy. People, irregardless of race, religion and background have lost someone on that day – mother, father, daughter, son, wife, husband, friends….I humbly pay respect to those who have worked tirelessly in managing the situation – police, firemen, volunteers.

No, I do not believe this was some sick conspiracy. It was a sick action ordered by a sick person who was hiding behind the veil of the sacred religion. There is no place for 9/11 cold killers in any religion and society.

Leave a Reply

