Life Is…..


The weekend went passed so quickly. The weather was nice and hot, a great weather to be by the beach if you ask me. However, it was not meant to be. We were still at home, doing some house work and G was caught up with deadlines.

Planted several rows of pretty flowers that I bought from Kew Nursery. Looking forward to add several more herb plants at the back of the kitchen. The calamansi plant is looking good now with new fruit coming out from the lovely branches.

Jaja our friend have gone back to East Coast to attend some family matters and that left Emi quite alone with their 14 giant furkids. She decided to invite a friend, H, over the weekend.

22, young and painfully shy, that was how I could describe H. A year younger than Lyn, I saw her for the first time several weeks before when the two girls just moved in to their new home which so happened to be behind ours.

For several nights, she would come by with Emi for dinner. I would cook and we all would eat and chatted about stuff. Then, I’d go over to Emi’s house to watch Astro as we still have not install ours. Quietly strong with a mind of her own, she talked about the death of her father sometime late last year. Of her younger sister who is still in search of a suitable course to continue her studies, of her relatives who have been bullying her mother after her father’s death…I saw a determined young lady who wanted to change her life and that of her family and protect the dignity of her now single mother.

And she is doing all these while fighting for her own life. H, as I was told, is on Stage 3 tongue cancer. I did not realize how far she was until she casually mentioned it over dinner. I was loss for words. That explained why she ate so slowly and she spoke in such calculated manner. She was quite selective over her food as certain type of food could trigger the cancer cells. She reads voraciously to update herself with info on her condition.

All I saw was a 22 year old young woman who is younger than our daughter.

My heart went to her and quietly prayed for her well being. I prayed for Emi’s well being. She has the most compassionate heart. Lastly, I prayed for the well being of myself and my family.

Leave a Reply

