Ramadhan Al Mubarak 2015


Ramadhan2

Ramadhan is here again. It was “just” recently that I felt we celebrated Aidil Fitri and now the fasting month starts tomorrow.

We went out for a family dinner earlier this evening at The Curve. Just something that we try to do every week or so. Ramadhan, to me, is a month of reflection and contemplation about life itself. Somehow, it also brings back my childhood memories. Never fails. Year in, year out.

Fasting month during my childhood days means having to wake up very early. The entire family – my parents, grandparents – will wake up to start preparing a full meal. That means we will see rice, a few types of dishes and dessert. There will be sambal fish, gulai ayam, more sambal, vegetable. Dessert can be anything from bubur to fruit from our own orchard.

In my mind, I could still see my grandmother sitting by the steps after the meal, just resting and waiting for the sun rise.

This will be my 5th Ramadhan with George. It will be a busy month too as we prepare for our second half of the year with business activities.

Leave a Reply

