I Don’t Want To Grow Old and Bitter


Two weeks before, I stood in front of 400 graduates while running a career workshop. Last week I did two career workshops at two local universities with more than 200 graduates coming out from their faculties in each session. Even had their DVC and lecturers dancing to the tune of Justin Timberlake. This week I will have another with potentially 400 graduates who crave to hear about the world of work.

Next year I will be a tad closer to hitting the Big Five Series. And seriously I don’t feel a day older than I was at 35. Many friends commented that I look youthful. I have no idea how the face just managed to look young. I even browsed through old pictures of classmates and other friends. And mine.

I surely look youthful. I FEEL youthful.

And frankly I think I absorb all these youth elixir from all these young people.

They are just so vibrant, so energetic, so young, and so ….young…

 

Don’t be a grumpy old fart

That’s what I keep on telling myself. More so after having some “exciting” exchanges in FB with my older cousin brother. He is waaaaaaayyyy older than me. He was lamenting the fact that the “young generation has no soul” and they have no interest about their roots. This came after I commented about the lack of young people in a recent family gathering. I told him that it is no true. It is just that “we” ie the older folks tend to forget to unlearn to relearn. We tend to say ohhh we have “makan garam” first meaning we have been here longer.

I, dont want to grow old being a grumpy old fart. Or old fartress. I dont want to grow old talking about old stuff.

valentine-couple

2 Replies to “I Don’t Want To Grow Old and Bitter”

  1. i’m only 23 yo and thought how one day i might be that old fartress. it’s kind of complicated isn’t, i myself felt quite bad to be that kind of generation but that just how it is.

Leave a Reply

