I Hope You Remember The Good Parts of Your Childhood


I sat at the square plastic table today, waiting for the Adik to serve me her famous Kelantanese nasi kukus ayam goreng (steamed rice with fried chicken). Next to the stall site is a big soccer field. The day was nice and hot. It was approaching 5.00 pm and I was just about to have my very late lunch.

I saw several boys, maybe around the age of 7 or 8. They were playing kites. They ran across the big field while their little kites soared majestically across the big blue sky. I could hear them laughing as one of them stumbled and fall, and quickly picking up his paces again so as not to lose his momentum.

Such pleasure. So simple.

I miss most of my childhood memories.

I hope those two boys will remember their kite flying days as much as I have some 40 odd years later.

kites-152760_1280

Leave a Reply

